Queen: Hot Space (Remastered Standard Edition)

Hot Space (Remastered Standard Edition)


  • US$17.49
    Delivery from US$5.95

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 27 June 2011
  • In Stock
Product code
CD Album
Number of Discs
Island Records

Original UK Release Date: 22 May 1982

"40 Years of Glam Rocking Genius" - NME 14th March 2001

"Britain's Best Loved Band" - The Sun 25th February 2011

Between 1977 and 1982 Queen officially became the most successful band in the world, releasing some of the biggest and best songs of all time including ‘Tie Your Mother Down’, ‘Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy’, ‘We Are The Champions’, ‘We Will Rock You’, ‘Fat Bottomed Girls’, ‘Bicycle Race’, ‘Don’t Stop Me Now’, ‘Crazy Little Thing Called Love’, ‘Save Me’, ‘Play The Game’, ‘Another One Bites The Dust’, ‘Flash’ and ‘Under Pressure’ featuring David Bowie.

Now Island Records reissue the five Queen albums from this period on June 6th 2011 as part of the band’s 40th Anniversary celebrations – ‘News of the World’, ‘Jazz’, ’The Game’, ‘Flash Gordon’ and ‘Hot Space’. The reissues will be accompanied by the second in the ‘Queen: Deep Cuts’ series, which looks at some of the lesser known tracks from these albums.

These five albums were recorded as Queen’s UK stadium success spread to the USA, South America, Europe and Asia and are the sound of a band breaking through the crash barriers of their own limitless ambition. The early 80's saw the band conquer South America for the first time, creating rock history when they played at the Morumbi Stadium in Brazil to 131,000 people - then the largest paying audience for a single band anywhere in the world.

If the early 70’s and the first five albums Queens released represented the band’s hard-rocking years, then the late 70’s and early 80’s represented their hard partying era. As Brian, Roger, Freddie and John toured the world their reputation for off-stage rock’n’roll extravagance grew with stories of legendary party excess from Kensington to Copacabana informing the Queen mythology.

The Queen image changed too in the second half of the 70s. Infamously Sid Vicious bumped into Freddie Mercury at Wessex Studios where both Pistols and Queen are recording - 'Ullo Fred - I see you've bought ballet to the masses then!' Says Sid, eyeing up Freddie's legendary ballet pumps. 'Ah Mr Ferocious. Yes, doing my best dear' retorted Freddie.

It was also during this period that one of the most iconic images in contemporary music was developed, when in 1980 Freddie Mercury grew perhaps the most famous moustache of modern times! Inspired by his adventures in the Lower East Side New York nightlife of the late 70’s, the moustache and attendant leathers completely reinvented the band’s look. Famously the moustache caused outrage among many fans who mailed him disposable razors.

Queens 40th Anniversary year has kicked off in spectacular style so far with their first ever major exhibition 'Stormtroopers in Stilettos' in London’s East End which drew an incredible crowd of over 20,000 visitors in two weeks, and kicked off with a star studded launch party attended by the likes of Foo Fighters and Jessie J. The Sun advised 'Get down there, it's an impressive collection'. Meanwhile the bands first five albums have been reissued to considerable acclaim. The Telegraph said of their early work, 'Queen's greatest music was extravagantly innovative, technically brilliant and created with a jeweller's care.’

These five albums highlight the diverse talent, musical ambition and already global success of a band made up of some of the best songwriters, musicians and performers of all time.

1 Staying Power (2011 Remaster)  
2 Dancer (2011 Remaster)  
3 Back Chat (2011 Remaster)  
4 Body Language (2011 Remaster)  
5 Action This Day (2011 Remaster)  
6 Put Out The Fire (2011 Remaster)  
7 Life Is Real (Song For Lennon) (2011 Remaster)  
8 Calling All Girls (2011 Remaster)  
9 Las Palabras De Amor (The Words Of Love) (2011 Remaster)  
10 Cool Cat (2011 Remaster)  
11 Under Pressure (2011 Remaster)